Anouar Brahem receives an Edison Award, The Netherlands’ most prestigious prize.

Anouar Brahem has obtained the greatest distinction awarded by The Netherlands' music-industry. In announcing the winners, the Jury referred to his album in these terms: "With 'Le Voyage de Sahar', the Tunisian musician Anouar Brahem proposes a breathtaking record, beautiful and intense." The Edison is the Dutch award for “sound productions of extraordinary quality.” It is the oldest music award in The Netherlands (1960).  The award, a bronze statuette by the sculptor Pieter d’Hont, is the equivalent of the Grammy Award in the USA, the German Echo Award, and the "Victoire de la Musique" in France. Previous Edison laureates have included Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Branford Marsalis, Dave Douglas, Cassandra Wilson and Pat Metheny.

Edison Award